B.C.’s coastal communities are divided into five notification zones:

  • Zone A (North Coast and Haida Gwaii)
  • Zone B (Central Coast and Northeast Vancouver Island Coast, including Kitimat, Bella Coola and Port Hardy)
  • Zone C (Outer West Coast of Vancouver Island from Cape Scott to Port Renfrew)
  • Zone D (Juan de Fuca Strait from Jordan River to Greater Victoria, including the Saanich Peninsula)
  • Zone E (Strait of Georgia including the Gulf Islands, Greater Vancouver and Johnstone Strait)

Quadra Island is within Zone E.



Fortunately, the risk to Quadra Island from a tsunami is quite low when compared to other parts of the BC coast:

For more information regarding Tsunami Areas and Preparation click here

Click here to return to Home Page!